Ellesmere area
Mon 19 June

 

Our next group is an essentially flat walk around the Ellesmere area. It is being led by Al. Please note that, as the walk is some distance away, an earlier start time of 09:15 from Guilden Sutton is proposed, so that we can be away on the walk by 10:00 latest The walk is known locally as the Welshhampton Wonder and is approx. 8 miles. Starting from the Boathouse Cafe/Visitor information centre the walk is along the Llangollen canal and around Blake Mere and Cole Mere to the village of Welshampton. We then cross the A495 and follow the path through undulating fields before following a level track back around the main mere.

 

 

 

 

How to get there

The Mere is well signposted on entering Ellesmere and is on the A495 road leading to Whitchurch/Shrewsbury. Al requests to meet at the Boathouse so people can use the toilets etc before starting the walk. There is a car park at the Boathouse/Visitors centre, pay and display. There are some picnic tables by Colemere (about 2.5 miles from the start) where we can have a quick break if needed and plenty of picnic spots around the main Mere. More info at http://www.northshropshire.co.uk/itineraries/exploring-the-meres-and-mosses.php

Streetmap: Click here
Distance 6.5 or 7.75 miles
Meet at village hall car park Church Lane 9:00 for lifts or 09:45 at the Three Pigeons
Journey time to Graig-fechan 45mins
Please contact Brian 301501 (E: bm.lewin20@gmail.com) if you wish to come or just turn up at the Village car park 9:00am.

TIMETABLE OF WALKS

 

Click on links for pics of held walks

 

Date Day Leader(s) Start Where   Miles
16 Jan Monday   09:30      
20Jan Friday Richard 09:30 Hilbre Island   4.5
15 Feb Wed Trevor 09:30 Frodsham   6
17 Mar Fri Janet 09:30 Conway Castle - high and low. All day   6-8
03 Apr Mon Trevor 09:30 Caldy 4.5
18 Apr Tues Richard 09:30 Moel Findeg from Loggerheads    
03 May Wed Sheena + Sandra 09:30 Shotwick Castle   4
18 May Thurs Brian 09:00 Southern Clwydians   6-8
02 June Fri School Hols        
19 June Mon Al 09:15 Ellesmere   4hrs
04 July Tues Edna/Peter 09:30 Rock Farm   3hrs
19 July Wed Richard/Brian 08:00 Nantlle Ridge N Wales   6-7hrs
04 Sept Mon   09:30      
19 Sept Tues   09:30      
04 Oct Wed   09:30      
19 Oct Thurs   09:30      
20 Nov Tues   09:30      
06 Dec Wed     Xmas walk + lunch    

Start times are at the village car park.

Click on links above for pics of finished walks

 

To contact the Parish Council or to email the website author, please click the button